Dark Funeral at RottingInPeace

Dark Funeral

Black Metal

Dark Funeral is a Swedish black metal band, formed in 1993 by Micke “Lord Ahriman” Svanberg and David “Blackmoon” Parland. Having completed their training with the integration of Joel “Draugen” Andersson and Paul “Themgoroth” Mäkitalo, they recorded their first EP in 1994 and later their first studio album under the MNW / No Fashion label entitled The Secrets of the Black Arts and edited in 1996.



However after its publication, Themgoroth announced his resignation during the promotional tour and his departure marked the beginning of constant changes in the band’s line-up, with Lord Hariman being the only original member. The chosen one to replace him was Magus Broberg (former Hypocrisy singer) who took the name of Emperor Magus Caligula and participated in his next recording works until 2010 when he announced his resignation and was temporarily replaced by Steve “Nachtgarm” Marbs.



After having released three studio albums under the MNW / No Fashion label, in 2001 Dark Funeral started a legal battle for the rights of his works as well as unpaid royalties. In 2008 they managed to win the lawsuit against MNW / No Fashion and published their subsequent works with the Regain label until 2012 when they ended their contract and signed Century Media.



Studio albums

  • 1996: The Secrets of the Black Arts
  • 1998: Vobiscum Satanas
  • 2001: Diabolis Interium
  • 2005: Attera Totus Sanctus
  • 2009: Angelus Exuro pro Eternus
  • 2016: Where Shadows Forever Reign
Play Cover Track Title
Track Authors